Gibraltar Owls

Coming Soon – Gibraltar Owls 

25th September 2020

Owls are birds from the order Strigiformes and are considered to be one of the most iconic bird species. There are over 200 species recorded worldwide, most of which are solitary and nocturnal birds of prey. Seven of these species have been identified in Gibraltar and are depicted on the stamp designs. They are as follows: 


  • Scops-owl, Otus Scops 
  • Little Owl, Athene noctua 
  • Short-eared Owl, Asio flammeus 
  • Barn Owl, Tyto alba 
  • Long-eared Owl, Asio otus 
  • Eagle Owl, Bubo bubo 
  • Tawny Owl, Strix aluco 


The illustrations featured on the stamps were commissioned to UK based wildlife artist Mr Jonathan Pointer